AYUSH is a combination of alternative system of Medicine, which was earlier known as Indian System of Medicine. 

AYUSH includes:

A- Ayurveda
Y- Yoga and Naturopathy
U- Unani
S- Siddha 

 Department of Indian Systems of Medicine and Homoeopathy (ISM&H) was created in March,1995 and re-named as Department of Ayurveda, Yoga & Naturopathy, Unani, Siddha and Homoeopathy (AYUSH) in November, 2003. AYUSH activities are coordinated by Department of AYUSH under Ministry of Health & Family Welfare

Main Objectives:
  • Provide focused attention to development of Education & Research in Ayurveda, Yoga & Naturopathy, Unani, Siddha and Homoeopathy systems. 
  • The Department continued to lay emphasis on upgradation of AYUSH educational standards, quality control and standardization of drugs, improving the availability of medicinal plant material, research and development and awareness generation about the efficacy of the systems domestically and internationally.
  Research council under the control of the Department of AYUSH are:
  • Central Council for Research in Ayurvedic Sciences (CCRAS)
  • Central Council for Research in Siddha (CCRS)
  • Central Council for Research in Unani Medicine (CCRUM)
  • Central Council for Research in Homoeopathy (CCRH)
  • Central Council for Research in Yoga and Naturopathy (CCRYN)
National Institutes (Education in Indian Medicine):
  • National Institute of Ayurveda, Jaipur (NIA)
  • National Institute of Siddha, Chennai (NIS)
  • National Institute of Homoeopathy, Kolkata (NIH)
  • National Institute of Naturopathy, Pune (NIN)
  • National Institute of Unani Medicine, Bangalore (NIUM)
  • Institute of Post Graduate Teaching and Research in Ayurveda, Jamnagar, Gujarat (IPGTR)
  • Rashtriya Ayurveda Vidyapeeth, New Delhi (RAV)
  • Morarji Desai National Institute of Yoga, New Delhi (MDNIY)
Yoga is one of the six systems of Vedic philosophy. Maharishi Patanjali, rightly called "The Father of Yoga" compiled and refined various aspects of Yoga systematically in his "Yoga Sutras" (aphorisms). He advocated the eight folds path of Yoga, popularly known as "Ashtanga Yoga" for all-round development of human beings. They are:- Yama, Niyama, Asana, Pranayama, Pratyahara, Dharana, Dhyana and Samadhi.The practice of Yoga prevents psychosomatic disorders and improves an individuals resistance and ability to endure stressful situations.

Naturopathy is a system of man building in harmony with the constructive principles of Nature on physical, mental, moral and spiritual planes of living. It has great health promotive, disease preventive and curative as well as restorative potential.

Unani system originated in Greece. The foundation of Unani system was laid by Hippocrates.It was introduced in India by the Arabs and Persians sometime around the eleventh century. Today, India is one of the leading countries in so for as the practice of Unani medicine is concerned.

Siddha system is one of the oldest systems of medicine in India .  The term Siddha means achievements and Siddhars were saintly persons who achieved results in medicine.  Eighteen Siddhars were said to have contributed towards the development of this medical system.  Siddha literature is in Tamil and it is practised largely in Tamil speaking part of India and abroad.  The Siddha System is largely therapeutic in nature.

The word ‘Homoeopathy’ is derived from two Greek words, Homois meaning similar and pathos meaning suffering.  Homoeopathy simply means treating diseases with remedies, prescribed in minute doses, which are capable of producing symptoms similar to the disease when taken by healthy people.  It is based on the natural law of healing- "Similia Similibus Curantur” which means  "likes are cured by likes”.  It was given a scientific basis by Dr. Samuel Hahnemann ( 1755-1843) in the early 19th century. 

Sowa Rigpa system:
In September 2009 Sowa Rigpa system of medicine was also recognized as a traditional system of medicine. Sowa Rigpa, commonly known as ‘Amchi’ is one of the oldest surviving system of medicine in the world, popular in the Himalayan region of India. In India this system is practiced in Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh, Darjeeling (West Bengal), Lahoul and Spiti (Himachal Pradesh) and Ladakh region of Jammu & Kashmir.  The majority of theory and practice of Sowa-Rigpa is similar to “Ayurveda” .