21. Who was the Chairman of the Constituent Assembly ?
(a) Dr. Rajendra Prasad
(b) C. Rajagopalachari
(c) Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru
(d) Dr. B.R. Ambedkar
Answer: Dr. Rajendra Prasad

22. When did Mr. Attlee, Prime Minister of England, announce the transfer of power to the
Indians ?
(a) February, 1947
(b) June, 1949
(c) August, 1947
(d) June, 1948
Answer: June, 1948

23. The Constituent Assembly was created by
(a) Simla Confrence, 1945
(b) Cripps Mission
(c) Indian Independence Act
(d) Cabinet Mission Plan
Answer: Cabinet Mission Plan

 24. The Constitution names our country as
(a) Bharat
(b) Aryavarta
(c) Hindustan
(d) India, that is Bharat
Answer: India, that is Bharat

25. The demand for the Constituent Assembly was put forward by the Indian National
Congress in 1936 at its session held at
(a) Kanpur
(b) Lahore
(c) Bombay
(d) Fezpur
Answer: Fezpur

26. A constitution is
(a) A set of ordinary laws
(b) A set of financial laws.
(c) A set of official laws
(d) The basic structure defining the powers of the state and the rights and duties of the citizens.
Answer: The basic structure defining the powers of the state and the rights and duties of the

27. The Cabinet Mission to India was headed by
(a) Stafford Cripps
(b) Hugh Gaitskell
(c) A.V. Alexander
(d) Lord Pethick Lawrence
Answer: Lord Pethick Lawrence

28. Cripps Mission visited India in
(a) 1927
(b) 1946
(c) 1939
(d) 1942
Answer: 1942

29. Which of the following rights was described by Dr. B.R. Ambedkar as The Heart and
soul of the Constitution?
(a) Right to Equality
(b) Right to Constitutional Remedies
(c) Right to Freedom of Religion
(d) Right to Property
Answer; Right to Constitutional Remedies

 30. Who proposed the Preamble before the Drafting Committee of the Constitution ?
(a) B.R. Ambedkar 
(b) Mahatma Gandhi
(c) B.N. Rao
(d) Jawaharlal Nehru
Answer: Jawaharlal Nehru

31. Who was the first speaker of the Lok Sabha ?
(a) P. Upendra
(b) Hukam Singh
(c) Anantha Sayanam Ayyanagar
(d) Malvankar
Answer: D

32. The state of Bombay was bifurcated into Maharashtra and Gujarat on May 1, in the
(a) 1959
(b) 1962
(c) 1960
(d) 1958
Answer: 1960

33. Which of the following is correct regarding the Indian Constitution ?
(a) It is completely based on British Constitution.
(b) It is original
(c) It is made only on the basis of Government of India Act, 1935
(d) It is a mixture of several Constitutions.
Answer: It is a mixture of several Constitutions.

34. Which of the following Union Territories attained statehood in February, 1987 ?
(a) Arunachal Pradesh
(b) Daman and Diu
(c) Goa
(d) Pondicherry
Answer: Arunachal Pradesh

35. The 25th Indian state to achieve statehood is
(a) Sikkim
(b) Goa
(c) Arunachal Pradesh
(d) Mizoram
Answer: Goa

 36. Chairman of Constitution Drafting Committee at the time of independence was
(a) Sardar Patel 
(b) B.R. Ambedkar
(c) S. Radhakrishnan
(d) J.L. Nehru
Answer: B.R. Ambedkar

37. The demand for a Constitution made by the people of India without outside
interference was officially asserted by the National Congress in
(a) 1939
(b) 1942
(c) 1935
(d) 1929
Answer: 1935

38. The Constituent Assembly for undivided India first met on
(a) 6th December, 1946
(b) 3rd June, 1947
(c) 20th February, 1947
(d) 9th December, 1946
Answer: 9th December, 1946

39. When was the Madras state renamed Tamil Nadu ?
(a) 1968
(b) 1971
(c) 1969
(d) 1970
Answer: 1969

40. In 1938, who among the following definitely formulated his demand for a Constituent
Assembly elected on the basis of adult franchise ?
(a) C.R. Das
(b) Subhash Chandra Bose
(c) Mahatma Gandhi
(d) Jawaharlal Nehru
Answer: Jawaharlal Nehru

41. The first state to become bifurcated after independence was
(a) Punjab
(b) Assam
(c) Bombay
(d) Bengal
Answer: Bombay

 42. When the Constituent Assembly for the Dominion of India reassembled on 31st  
October, 1947, its reduced membership was
(a) 331
(b) 299
(c) 311
(d) 319
Answer: 299

43. For the philosophy underlying our Constitution, the historic Objectives Resolution was
moved in the Constituent Assembly on 22nd January, 1947 by
(a) Jawaharlal Nehru
(b) Dr. S. Radhakrishnan
(c) Dr. B.R. Ambedkar
(d) Dr. Rajendra Prasad

Answer; Jawaharlal Nehru