MCQs on Music -15

1. Ragas are divided into how many sections as per the ‘Time-theory of Ragas’, in Hindustani Music, on the basis of ‘swaras’?
(A) 10
(B) 5
(C) 4
(D) 3

2. One ‘swara’ consists of how much maximum number of shruties as per Hindustani music?
(A) 5
(B) 4
(C) 3
(D) 6

3. Alaripu is an opening part of which of the following dance?
(A) Bharat Natyam
(B) Mohini Attam
(C) Kathakali
(D) Kuchipudi

4. Which of the following ‘Raga’ does not fall under ‘Todi Thata’?
(A) Todi
(B) Gurjari Todi
(C) Multani
(D) Bahaduri Todi

5. Chord is the basis of
(A) Staccato
(B) Harmony
(C) Rest
(D) Metre

6. Grammy Award 2013 was conferred on Pt. Ravi Shankar posthumously on his album
(A) Twilight
(B) If tomorrow comes
(C) The living room session part I
(D) Shastriya Sangeetki Vividha Shailiyan

7. World Radio Day is observed on
(A) 13 Feb
(B) 15 Jan
(C) 26 Sept
(D) 19 April

8. Zia Fariduddin is an exponent of which musical form?
(A) Tappa
(B) Thumri
(C) Khayal
(D) Dhrupad

9. The first singer to receive Phalke Award
(A) Lata Mangeshkar
(B) Bhupen Hazarika
(C) Asha Bhonsle
(D) Manna Dey

10. Indian Broadcasting Service was renamed in 1936 as
(A) Akashwani
(B) Nabhowani
(C) Doorwani
(D) All India Radio

11. The first singer to receive Bharat Ratna is
(A) M.S. Subbalakshmi
(B) Pt. Bhimsen Joshi
(C) Smt. Lata Mangeshkar
(D) Pt. Balmurali Krishna

12. What is the full form of ‘AM’ regarding Radio Broadcasting?
(A) Amplitude movement
(B) Anywhere movement
(C) Amplitude matching
(D) Amplitude modulation

13. In Western notation system minim is equivalent to
(A) 2 matras
(B) 1/2 matra
(C) 1/4 matra
(D) 1 matra

14. How many Ragangas have been described by Narayan Moreshwar Khare?
(A) 16
(B) 30
(C) 26
(D) 10

15. Which musicologist did use Dwadash Moorchanavad?
(A) Bharat
(B) Matang
(C) Nanyadev
(D) Sharangdeo



Post a Comment

Featured Post

UPSC Civil Service Preliminary Paper-1 Previous Year Solved Question Papers

Civil Service Preliminary Paper-1 Previous Year Solved Questions for the year 2019 Civil Service Preliminary Paper-1 Previous Year Solved Qu...


No. of Page Views

Contact Form


Email *

Message *

Blog Archive

Search This Blog