1. When can a President use his discretion in appointing the Prime Minister?

(a) When no political party enjoys a clear majority in the Lok Sabha
(b) Only when the Lok Sabha has been dissolved.
(c) In all circumstances
(d) In no circumstances

 2. If in a country there happens to be the office of monarchy as well as a  Parliamentary form of government this monarch will be called

(a) Head of the State
(b) Head of the Cabinet
(c) Head of the government
(d) Both Head of the government and State

 3. One feature distinguishing the Rajya Sabha from the Vidhan Parishad is

(a) Power of impeachment
(b) Indirect election
(c) Nomination of members
(d) Tenure of membership

 4. Chief Ministers of all the states are ex-officio members of the

(a) Planning Commission
(b) National Development Council
(c) Inter State Council
(d) Finance Commission

5. Who, among the following, has the final right to sanction the expenditure of public money in India?

(a) Speaker
(b) President
(c) Prime Minister
(d) Parliament

6. Which of the following is not an essential qualification for appointment as a Governor?

(a) He must not be a member of either House of Parliament. 
(b) He should be a domicile of the state to which he is being appointed.
(c) He should be a citizen of India.
(d) He must have completed the age of 35 years

7. The President nominates 12 members of the Rajya Sabha according to

(a) Their performance as office bearers of cultural societies.
(b) The recommendations made by the Vice President.
(c) Their role played in political set up of the country.
(d) Their distinction in the field of science, art, literature and social service.

8. Which Article of the Constitution empowers the President to appoint a Commission to investigate the condition of backward classes in general and suggest ameliorative measures?

(a) Article 342
(b) Article 344
(c) Article 340
(d) Article 339

9. Who can initiate impeachment proceedings against the President of India? 

(a) Either House of Parliament
(b) Any Vidhan Sabha
(c) Only Lok Sabha
(d) Rajya Sabha

10. Who was the member of the Rajya Sabha when first appointed as the Prime Minister of India?

(a) Lal Bahadur Shastri
(b) Charan Singh
(c) Morarji Desai
(d) Indira Gandhi