1. In which of the following situations does the President act in his own discretion ?

(a) In returning a proposal to the Council of Ministers for reconsideration
(b) None of the Above
(c) In appointing the Prime Minister
(d) Both of these

2. The Prime Minister, Union Cabinet Minister, Chief Minister and Council of Ministers are all members of

(a) National Development Council
(b) Regional Council
(c) Planning Commission
(d) Zonal Council

3. The President's Rule in a state means that the state is ruled by

(a) A caretaker government
(b) The Chief Minister nominated by the President
(c) The Governor of the State
(d) The President directly

4. Which of the following writs is issued by the court in case of illegal detention of a person ? 

(a) Quo Warranto 
(b) Habeas Corpus 
(c) Mandamus 
(d) Certiorari 

5. Which of the following case come under the original jurisdiction of Supreme Court ? 

(a) Cases against encroachment on Fundamental Rights 
(b) Disputes between two or more States
(c) Both (a) and (b) above. 
(d) If one's property is forcefully occupied by the other 

6. Which is not an eligibility criterion for appointment as a Judge of the High Court ?

(a) Must have been an advocate of a High Court for not less than 10 years 
(b) Must be, in the opinion of the President, a distinguished jurist. 
(c) Must have attained the age of 55 years 
(d) Must have been a High Court Judge for at least 5 years 

7. Judicial Review function of the Supreme Court means the power to 

(a) Review the functioning of judiciary in the country 
(b) Undertake periodic review of the Constitution. 
(c) Examine the constitutional validity of the laws 
(d) Review its own judgement 

8. The High Courts in India were first started at 

(a) Bombay, Delhi, Madras 
(b) Madras and Bombay 
(c) Bombay, Madras, Calcutta 
(d) Delhi and Calcutta 

9. For the enforcement of Fundamental Rights, the Supreme Court may issue a/an 

(a) Notification 
(b) Writ 
(c) Decree 
(d) Ordinance 

10. Besides its permanent seal at Delhi, the Supreme Court can also meet at 

(a) Any other Union Territory 
(b) Any other place as decided by the Chief Justice of India in consultation with the President 
(c) Any other metropolitan city 
(d) Any other major city