1. Who among the following did not serve as the Vice president before becoming president of India ?

(A) Dr. S Radhakrishnan
(B) Dr. Zakir Hussain
(C) Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy
(D) R. Venkataraman

2. Who performs the duties of the office of the Chairman of the Rajya Sabha when the Vice-President is acting as the President of India?

(A) Speaker of the Lok Sabha
(B) Deputy Speaker of the Lok Sabha
(C) Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha
(D) The post of Chairman remains vacant

3. A federal structure of India was first put forward by the

(A) Act of 1909
(B) Act of 1919
(C) Act of 1935
(D) Act of 1947

4. The power of the Supreme Court of India to decide disputes between the Centre and the States falls under its

(A) advisory jurisdiction
(B) appellate jurisdiction.
(C) original jurisdiction
(D) writ jurisdiction

5. Which writ is issued by a High Court or the Supreme Court to compel an authority to perform a function that it was not performing ?

(A) Writ of Certiorari
(B) Writ of Habeas Corpus
(C) Writ of Mandamus
(D) Writ of Quo Warranto

6. The Concurrent list in the Constitution of India was adopted from

(A) United Kingdom
(B) Australia
(C) Canada
(D) United States of America

7. The Chief Election Commissioner can be removed from his office:

(A) By the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court
(B) By the President
(C) On the basis of a resolution of the Cabinet
(D) On the basis of proved misbehaviour by 2/3rd majority of both Houses of Parliament

8. What happens when Rajya Sabha recommends some amendments to a Money Bill?

(A) the Lok Sabha must implement the amendments.
(B) a joint sitting of the Lok Sabha and Rajy Sabha is called.
(C) the Lok Sabha may proceed with or without the amendments.
(D) the Lok Sabha has to return the bill to Rajaya Sabha within fourteen days for reconsideration.

9. If the Speaker of the Lok Sabha intends to vacate his office before the expiry of his term, he sends his resignation to the:

(A) Chairman of the Rajya Sabha
(B) Leader of the House (Lok Sabha)
(C) Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha
(D) President of India

10. Which of the following powers is exclusively vested in the Rajya Sabha?

(A) creation of new all India Services.
(B) initiation of impeachment proceedings against the President.
(C) legislation on subjects from the Union List
(D) rejection of Money Bills.

More MCQs on Indian Constitution