1. Match the following Writs with its meanings 

1. Habeas Corpus -     i) We command 
2. Mandamus        -    ii) to be certified 
3. Prohibition         -    iii) by what authority 
4. Quo-Warranto   -    iv) to forbid
                            -     v) to here the body of 

Choose the correct code below 

     1  2   3    4
(A) v)  i)  iv)  iii) 
(B) i)  ii)  iii)  iv) 
(C) v) i)  iii)  iv) 
(D) i) ii)   v)  iii)

2. Who has the Authority to approve President Rule in the state ?

(A) Parliament
(B) Lok Sabha
(C) State Legislature
(D) Council of State

3. The Habeas corpus is not issued in which of following conditions 

1. Detention is lawful 
2. The proceeding is for contempt of a legislature or a court 
3. Detention is by a competent court 
4. Detention is outside the jurisdiction of the court 

Choose the correct code below:

(A) 1 and 2 only 
(B) 2 and 3 only 
(C) 1 , 2 and 3 only 
(D) All of the above

4. Which among the following statements is/are true about Joint Sitting of Two Houses (Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha) ?

1. The joint sitting takes place according to the rules of Lok Sabha and not Rajya Sabha
2. The quorum of a joint sitting is one-tenth of the total members of both Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha
3. So far there have only been three joint sittings of both Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha
4. The Speaker of the Lok Sabha presides over the joint sitting of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha
Which of the above statement(s) is/are correct? 

(A) 1, 3, and 4
(B) 2,3 and 4
(C) 1 and 2
(D) All are true 

5. The mandamus cannot be issued in which of the following conditions 

1. Against a private individual or body. 
2. When the duty is discretionary and not mandatory. 
3. To enforce a contractual obligation. 

Which of the above are correct? 

(A) 1 and 2 only 
(B) 2 and 3 only 
(C) 2 and 3 only 
(D) All of the above 1

6. Constitutionally, who has the power to make a law on the subject mentionable in the Union List :

(A) Lok Sabha
(B) Parliament
(C) Rajya Sabha
(D) Legislative Council

7. In the Union govt. the council of minister is collectively responsible to the:

(A) President
(B) Prime Minister
(C) Lok sabha
(D) Parliament

8. Under article 1 of the constitution, the territory of India shall comprise of 

1. The territories of the state 
2. The union territories specified in the first schedule 
3. Other such territories a may be acquired 

Which of the above statement(s) is/are correct? 

(A) 1 only 
(B) 1 and 2 only 
(C) 1 and 3 only 
(D) All of the above

9. Article 2 of the constitution grants what power(s) to the parliament? 

1. The power to admit into the union of India new States. 
2. The power to establish new States. 

Which of the above Statement(s) is/are correct? 

(A) 1 only 
(B) 2 only 
(C) Both 1 and 2 
(D) Neither 1 nor 2

10. Match the states which have been formed from cession to a state 

1) Chattisgarh         -    i) Madhaya pradesh 
2) Uttarkhand         -    ii) Bihar
3) Jharkhand          -   iii) Uttar Pradesh
                               -   iv) West Bengal 

Choose the correct option below:

      1   2    3
(A) ii)  iv)  iii) 
(B) i)   iii)  ii) 
(C) iii) ii)   i) 
(D) iv) iii)  i)


More MCQs on Indian Constitution