1. At a time, President's rule can be imposed on a state for a maximum period of

(a) 1 year
(b) 5 years
(c) 2 years
(d) 4 years

2. The Chairman of the Planning Commission in India is the

(a) President
(b) Prime Minister
(c) Minister of Planning
(d) Finance Minister

3. When Parliament is not in session, the President can promulgate an ordinance which is to be ratified by the Parliament within

(a) 6 weeks from the reassembly of Parliament
(b) 6 months from the reassembly of the Parliament
(c) 6 weeks from the date of issue of ordinance.
(d) 3 months from the date of issue of the ordinance.

4. The President of India is elected by an Electoral College comprising of

(a) Elected members of Lok Sabha and State Legislative Assemblies.
(b) Elected member of both Houses of Parliament and State Legislative Assembly
(c) Elected members of both Houses of Parliament.
(d) Elected member of State Legislative Assemblies

5. If the office of the President of India falls vacant, within what time should the next President be elected ?

(a) Within 2 months
(b) Within 1 year
(c) Within 6 months
(d) Immediately

6. The President can proclaim a state of emergency in case of

(a) Failure of Constitutional machinery in a particular state.
(b) Threat to financial stability of the country.
(c) External aggression or internal disturbances threatening the security of the country.
(d) All of the above

7. In the election of the President, the value of the vote of the Lok Sabha members

(a) Differs according to the geographical size of the respective state.
(b) None of these
(c) Differs according to the number of votes a member represents.
(d) is same

8. The Indian President is

(a) None of these
(b) Titular executive
(c) Real executive
(d) Real/Titular executive

9. The minimum age required for becoming the Prime Minister of India is

(a) 30 years
(b) 35 years
(c) 40 years
(d) 25 years

10. The President may for violation of the Constitution be removed from the office by

(a) The Prime Minister
(b) The Electoral College consisting of members of Parliament and the State Legislatures.
(c) Impeachment
(d) no- confidence vote