1.Section 3 of Official Language Act 1963 came into force on 

(a) 26 January 1965
(b) 28 February 1965
(c) 26 January 1966
(d) 26 January 1964

2. Which Section of  Official Language Act 1963 states that "Hindi" means Hindi in Devanagari Script

(a) Section 3(a)
(b) Section 2(b)
(c) Section 4
(d) Section 2(c)

3. Which language can be used in addition to Hindi for official purposes of the Union and for use in Parliament

(a) Tamil
(b) Urdu
(c) English
(d) Sanskrit

4. Which language shall be used for the purposes of communication between the Union and a State which has not adopted Hindi as its Official Language

(a) Urdu
(b) Tamil
(c) Concerned Regionl Language
(d) English

5. As per Section 3 (3) of  Official Language Act 1963, both Hindi and the English languages shall be used for-

(i) resolutions, general orders, rules, notifications, administrative or other reports or press communiques issued or made by the Central Government

(ii) administrative and other reports and official papers laid before a House or the Houses of Parliament;

(iii) contracts and agreements executed, and licenses, permits, notices and forms of tender issued, by or on behalf of the Central Government 


(a) (i) & (ii)
(b) (ii) & (iii)
(c) (i) & (iii)
(d) (i), (ii) & (iii)

6. The Committee on Official language is constituted 

(a) by the President
(b) by the Speaker of Lok Sabha
(c) by the Central Government
(d) on a resolution to that effect being moved in either House of Parliament with the previous sanction of the President and passed by both Houses

7. The Committee on Official Language consist of ---------- members

(a) 33
(b) 25
(c) 30
(d) 20

8. The Committee on Official Language consist of ---------- members from Lok Sabha

(a) 15
(b) 25
(c) 10
(d) 20

9. The Committee on Official Language consist of ---------- members from Rajya abha

(a) 10
(b) 15
(c)  5
(d) 12

10. The members of Committee on Official Language are elected respectively by the members of the House of the People and the members of the Council of States

(a) by nomination
(b) by voting
(c) by random selection 
(d) in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote

Read More: MCQs on Official Language Act 1963 (2)